How To (Totally) Make Someone’s Day

A while back, I got an email from a friend Liz. You may remember email as that form of communication we used before texting.

I’m not trying to be snarky, I just know that the middle school and high school students I often work with speak only with their thumbs and I’m trying to sound like I totally, like, fit in and stuff.

Anyway, my friend Liz sent me an email a while back. And it was a great gift.

My friend’s email was chock full of words, as human communication often is.  But it was the words my friend chose and the order they were arranged in that made all the difference.  These were blessing words.

A blessing is an ancient tradition. Back in biblical times (when Moses rode around on dinosaurs), a blessing was how one person imparted certain things to another person. Things like:

  • Hope for a better future.
  • Authority to accomplish great things.
  • A clearer sense of identity and mission.

In other words, a blessing communicated to a person, “This is who you are! This is what you are to be about!” Which is why blessings can be such gifts.

Because we all have the memory of a goldfish (which I’m told is about 30 seconds long, though I’d love to meet the poor researcher who had to spend their time discovering this), we easily forget who we are and the important work/play we need to be about.  We forget that much of what fills our calendar and our closets and our refrigerator and our inboxes may have nothing to do with the unique person God made each of us to be. We forget that we are beloved, adopted, set apart. Blessings bring us back home to reality.

I’m grateful my friend Liz sent me my email blessing. It reminded me of truth in the very moment truth’s voice was the toughest to hear. And it made me think: who do I need to bless today?  Who in my life needs reminding of how special and loved they are?  What’s keeping me from just flat out telling them?  What’s keeping you?

Email somebody a blessing today.  Text it to them.  Shock them by sending them a handwritten note.  Or Holy One Direction, Batman, just speak it right to their face and follow it with a hug. You could totally, like, make their day and stuff.

(I referenced One Direction to show how youth-culture savvy I am. Whatev.)

About jesserice

Speaker | Author | Digital Culture Expert | Sit-Down Comedian

Posted on September 14, 2012, in humanity vs. technology, lifestyle, relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Giving the gift of blessing is something that we are intentional about in our family.

    We gave Emilie a Blessing Party for her 13th birthday in July. Blessings and One Direction united to make it happen. Come take a peak-http://victoryrd.blogspot.com/2012/07/emilies-blessing-party-part-2.html

What do you think?

