Celebrity Stops Tweeting For Love

allen on cell phoneFor better or worse (and I’d say, mostly for worse), we’re taking more and more of our tips on how to live a good life from celebrities.  How should we eat?  How should we exercise?  How should we relate to one another?  What should we think about spirituality?  Not that there isn’t some real truth to be found among celebrity wisdom, but it seems the WHO of who we’re listening to matters less than the WHAT of what they’re saying.

As I was reading the San Francisco Chronicle headlines this morning, the following caught my eye (I happened to be reading the section discussing what celebrities are up to, of course):

British singer Lily Allen has given up on social networking after her boyfriend told her she spent too much time online.

The singer was a frequent user of Twitter.com and MySpace, but she has now turned her back on the sites, giving away her computer and BlackBerry, in a bid to keep lover Sam Cooper happy.

Allen has previously admitted her obsession with the Internet and communicating with fans was causing friction in their relationship, saying, “My boyfriend gets really angry. He’s like: ‘I want to spend some time with you, do we have to have one and a half million people in the room with us?’ I’m like, ‘Yes, shut up!'”

But the star has now decided to quit writing on her blogs, according to British newspaper the Daily Mirror.

A source tells the publication, “We thought she was joking, but it’s been a month since she last Twittered. Before then you could always get a response from her straight away. No matter what time of day or where she was, she’d be glued to her BlackBerry.

“Now you have to leave a message on her home answerphone. She does have a clapped out old mobile phone, but you’re lucky to get her on that because she keeps leaving it when she goes out. She was so obsessed with the next new thing that it has shocked everyone.

“Sam was fed up. He told Lily: ‘It’s me or Twitter.’ And she chose him.” (reported by the Daily Dish for the SF Chronicle)

Will any of us be following Allen to intentional disconnection for the sake of more loving relationships?  I’m not going to recommend anyone go and do everything Lily Allen does, but this is an interesting bit of celebrity wisdom that might have value beyond a potential media stunt.

And yes, I just blogged about a celebrity.

About jesserice

Speaker | Author | Digital Culture Expert | Sit-Down Comedian

Posted on October 23, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I would have to agree. If she was spending so much time online that is was causing problems for their relationship, it was the smart thing to give up her social network sites.

  2. I love the irony in this post and the article.
    Honestly, I like the idea of celebrities not being apart of social media. There is a reason it is called social media and not celebrity media. It is about socializing and chatting, not about your new CD coming out in the fall or your new movie.
    I think twitter would still be huge, but I think Ashton Kutcher took it to new heights earlier than planned, but I still think that they kind of muddy the water on the whole twitter social media stuff.

    But we can definitely learn something here. Learning how to unplug for a reason. I have a hard time doing this myself, but I can definitely examine my motives here. Now if only I could become a well know singer/songwriter I would be golden.

    • “Learning to unplug for a reason.” I like that. Maybe that’s part of our challenge – getting a clear picture if that reason. Thanks for your thoughts! Looking forward to when your new album drops:-)

  3. That last comment was mine, I just was logged in on another account will you delete it for me.

    I love the irony in this post and the article.
    Honestly, I like the idea of celebrities not being apart of social media. There is a reason it is called social media and not celebrity media. It is about socializing and chatting, not about your new CD coming out in the fall or your new movie.
    I think twitter would still be huge, but I think Ashton Kutcher took it to new heights earlier than planned, but I still think that they kind of muddy the water on the whole twitter social media stuff.

    But we can definitely learn something here. Learning how to unplug for a reason. I have a hard time doing this myself, but I can definitely examine my motives here. Now if only I could become a well know singer/songwriter I would be golden.

  4. I personally don’t read celebrity blogs or tweets,
    except yours of course. hehe.

    But seriously, I get kind of tired of only seeing media that either makes them out to be monsters or shows only the glamor. They are only flesh and blood. Pardon me, but they poop, yell at their dog, eat junk food, feel lonely, bored and tired like the rest of us. Who says they shouldn’t blog? The place we give them of importance is our responsibility.
    We each need to monitor our time on the internet. It has a false community about it as well as a genuine one, don’t you think?

  5. I like the move, but don’t understand how she couldn’t try for balance in her life. Create boundaries and such. There is no reason to give up on something that a person sees as valuable.

What do you think?

