Whoever Tells The Best Story, Wins

I’m reading a book called Brain Rules: 12 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School, by John Medina. Medina is the director of the Brain Center for Applied Learning Research at Seattle Pacific University and teaches regularly at the Department of Bioengineering at the University of Washington. He is an internationally respected developmental molecular biologist and research consultant. All that is to say, Medina is a smart guy. And this is a smart book.

Probably my favorite book on science and humanity since Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything, Medina goes into brain-stimulating detail about how “we don’t pay attention to boring things” and why our sedentary lifestyles are rotting our brains. He talks about our brain’s evolution and why we should have a treadmill in our office cubicles.

The fact that Medina does this all with a brisk, engaging, and very humorous writing style makes the book and its material more than accessible; it is truly engaging.

My brain likes it.

Which makes me think of that book title by Annette Simmons (okay, I had to Google it to find out it was written by Simmons) called, He Who Tells The Best Story Wins. Medina has fascinating material to work with and wonderful insight into how that material applies to daily living.

But lots of professors, doctoral students, and medical professionals have the same material and insight, and I wouldn’t want to spend three minutes in a room with them. Not so with Medina. I’d love to have him over for dinner. Why? Because he tells the best story. As such, he wins.

As you look over the details of your life, especially the work you’re engaged in, how is your storytelling? When I look at mine, I sometimes find it pretty stale. Get up, go to work, come home, go to bed. (Yes, I do  lot more than that, but I’m trying to make a point).

The material I have to work with is not the problem. I have a great life. The problem is I often miss that great life because I’m not fully engaged as the storyteller God has made me. I settle for a to-do list kind of life because I’m not getting off my butt to tell a you-want-to-have-me-over-for-dinner kind of story with my life.

You and I have much the same rich material to work with: eating, sleeping, getting the kids to school, getting our work done on time, loving God, ourselves, and others the best we can. How we spin that material means the difference between being a dreadful bore and a sought-after dinner guest. It means the difference between making a living (which has great value) and telling the story only you can tell (which can reshape the world).

God made you a storyteller. I know this because he made you in His image and He is the Master Storyteller. So how then will you tell your story today? Using the basic material of your responsibilities, opportunities, and relationships today, what kind of story will you tell?

(photo credit: Influx Images for Imagebank)
About jesserice

Speaker | Author | Digital Culture Expert | Sit-Down Comedian

Posted on August 30, 2011, in humanity vs. technology, lifestyle, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

